Character dialogue

Dialogue in Harvest Moon was always stale and repetitive. They would usually only say something different if you improved their relationship with them, and/or talked to them at a different place.

For Tailor Tales, dialogue will change depending on the location of said character, the relationship between the two of you, and it will change with each day of the week, as well as the season. This way, you won’t get bored reading what they have to say. I will also have the bachelors reference what happened during heart events (unlike Harvest Moon where they totally ignore what happened during them in regular conversation). It’s a lot of work, but worth it!

I’ve already pretty much finished Bill’s Spring dialogue (nothing about heart events though). Here are a few excerpts:

Black heart Stranger
“… How’s your store going?”
“Sorry, I’m not that great at friendly chatting.”

Blue heart Acquaintances
“It’s a bit uneventful today ….”
“Oh, I’m sorry! I didn’t mean to imply that you’re boring, or anything.”
“That came out a bit wrong.”

Green heart Friends
“I think I’ve gotten used to having you as a neighbor now.”
“I apologize if I’m not a good neighbor, but I try. Tell me if you need anything.”

Yellow heart Crush/Best friends
“Calvin and Roy were teasing me yesterday *sigh*.”
“About what? Oh, uh – nothing! Nothing that you should worry about.”
“No really, don’t let it worry you.”

Red heart Love/Best friends
“If you need any help with your work, I’m your man.”
“I don’t mean it as I’m your man, but …”
“I’ll shut up now.”

Bachelors will also sometimes ask you questions (they don’t count as heart events) and sometimes they will also give you gifts. It all depends on your relationship with them.

For now I’ll be working on all the bachelor’s dialogue during Spring (it’s my goal to finish Spring at least, I can worry about the other seasons later on).

4 thoughts on “Character dialogue

  1. This just made me love your game even more. That was always a hated part of HM for me. I love how you are doing it by seasons.

Leave a Reply

