The clothing

I always talk about the romantic aspect of Tailor Tales, leaving out the ‘tailor’ in favour of the ‘tales’, but it’s something I’m still very much concerned about.

Creating clothing has always been something I liked to do in games, especially if I could also wear them (ala Animal Crossing). I’ve always been set back by the huge amount of artwork that I needed to create if I were to allow the player to mix and match outfits, and I still am. I might still just restrict player outfits to dresses only, but at least they will be unique dresses. With the current sprites I’m planning on using, this should be easier to create than with my previous spriteset.

But! There’s a bonus. With this script I’ve found, that lets the player customize their character’s ‘clothing’, I can finally allow the player to make their character look more like them. This means different skin tones, hair colours and hair styles! I mean, this shouldn’t be too much work considering I’ve already got the hairstyles, and skintones/hair colours are simply a change of hue.

So that means no more Abigail, the second main character. It will simply be Joselina all the way, except she can look however you want to. You’ll start out with a default hairstyle (colour you can change though), with more options in-game that requires gold. This also means there will be a stylist in town to let you change your hairstyle/colour.

On to the creation of the clothing. It will be largely the same (mechanics wise), except this time you will actually tailor clothing for people. A random NPC will enter your shop, and list their requests (they want something red, or maybe a shirt, or maybe a red shirt), and it’s your job to create it and sell it to them. NPCs will only come into your shop when you choose to open shop in the first place. Only a few will come each time, and you can only open up shop once a day.

Dyes will no longer be things you can buy at the market. Instead, you can scavenge for items on the ground (I said before I’d remove this portion, but it’s too much fun to remove it), with each item having a colour that you can turn into a dye. Want gold fabric? Then you need to head over to the mine to get it!

ETc. etc.

Of course the part I’m focusing on the most at the moment is getting an actual bachelor route done.

Leave a Reply

