Tailor Tales beta 1.0

This is the first official Tailor Tales beta! There’s so much new content added that I felt confident enough to call it beta 1.0 instead of 0.3.

Tailor Tales Beta 1.0

A Mac version will be added later!

Changelog:
– Dimitri’s route has been added! You can now read his first two chapters
– Added Dimitri’s & Alex’s portrait
– Added Neil’s chapters 1 through 18 (16k+ words added from the previous beta). Total word count 41k
– Settings in the menu is now clickable for the following:

  • A CG gallery
  • Character information
  • Save button
  • Music button
  • Chapter jumping
  • FAQ

– Tailoring system now has the following:

  • Tops can be created
  • Skirts can be created
  • Dresses can be created
  • Bottoms can be created

– Dress-up system also added
– Character creation added (this will influence your CGs)
– Added a way to take screenshots using PRNTSCR, these will be stored in a Screenshots folder
– Removed multiple save files, creating only a single save file
– Added weather effects

Things that still aren’t added:
– Decorating
– Shopping
– The ability to make jackets
– Designing clothes for clients and earning money and experience
– Accessories such as glasses/hats etc.

In this beta, you are in God Mode, all chapters, items, patterns, colours, hairstyles etc. will be available to you from the beginning to test.

Bugs
I tried my best to keep it bug free, but considering how complex the new tailoring system has become, bugs will eventually happen. You may crash upon clicking on Design or Outfit, or it may not load the entire way. Older computers with low RAM may not be able to handle the designing or dress-up part at all.

If you encounter any bugs, please show me a screenshot and let me know what you were doing before the bug happened so I can replicate it.

With that said – happy testing! This has been a huge release, and I’m very excited to see people play it.

Some ideas for you to create:
– Create your favourite Disney princess
– Create your favourite anime/videogame/movie character
– Create yourself

Please take a screenshot using the camera icon in the top left corner when dressing up your avatar, and share this image with us! The image can be found in your Screenshot folder :)

And as for waiting so long for this beta release, I added an extra: Dimitri’s first two chapters are available! Just go to your menu, click characters, select Dimitri, and click on “read his story” so that you’ll switch to him. The game will automatically ask if you want to switch to Dimitri’s route after reaching chapter 18 on Neil.

Questions for those that have played the beta:
1. Are you enjoying Neil’s route, do you still like him/hate him?
2. What are your thoughts on Dimitri’s first two chapters? Do you want to read more?
3. Who’s your favourite guy out of Neil and Dimitri? Or perhaps Alex?
4. What’s your favourite CG?
5. What’s your favourite chapter or scene?
6. Which part was the most romantic to you?
7. Out of all of the side characters, is there anyone you would want as a date option?

8. Did you at any point get stuck on a loading screen?
9. Were you able to create clothing using the “Design” button?
10. Did you encounter any bugs while designing?
11. Were you able to dress up your avatar using the “Outfit” button?
12. Was everything easy to use, or were the menus too complicated?
13. What did you like more, creating clothes, dressing up the avatar, or reading the story?

14. Last question; did you have fun!? :D

14 thoughts on “Tailor Tales beta 1.0

  1. Hello, I recently played the game and I just need to fill in your little survey to let you know how much I enjoyed the time :D

    1. Are you enjoying Neil’s route, do you still like him/hate him?
    I have mixed feelings due his personality. I think I know where he comes from, though – I can find few of his not-so-good traits in myself (sarcastic it hurts others, the problem with seeing myself at fault). Still, I enjoyed his route, even if it hurt a little when the MC and him didn’t see eye to eye. I’d say, it’s adding to reality of the relationship, there’s bitterness as long as sweetness in life.

    2. What are your thoughts on Dimitri’s first two chapters? Do you want to read more?
    I fell in love with Dimitri – he’s adorable and I could feel his concern for MC wellbeing. I’d like to see if he changed much from his teenege self at later chapters.

    3. Who’s your favourite guy out of Neil and Dimitri? Or perhaps Alex?
    After reading Neil and Dmitri’s stories, I’d say both. Neil gives me feels I though long gone – I was able to feel hurt by words of fictional character, wow. Alex – no place for cheaters in my life, no. Dmitri – yay!

    4. What’s your favourite CG?
    The one with Neil hiding behind his laptop.

    5. What’s your favourite chapter or scene?
    Dmitri’s baking with MC, and his overall interactions. Neil – the scene where he tolds MC she’s nothing to him (even if I know it’s the opposite) – that was powerful.

    6. Which part was the most romantic to you?
    I draw a blank here. I honestly don’t know at the moment.

    7. Out of all of the side characters, is there anyone you would want as a date option?
    Angela is precious, I really like her take on life!

    8. Did you at any point get stuck on a loading screen?
    No.

    9. Were you able to create clothing using the “Design” button?
    Yes, I had fun with it.

    10. Did you encounter any bugs while designing?
    No.

    11. Were you able to dress up your avatar using the “Outfit” button?
    Yes, I even changed her outfit every chapter. The comments of characters about MC’s outfit – did it matter if the outfit was different each chapter or is it just written, no matter the clothes MC’s wearing?

    12. Was everything easy to use, or were the menus too complicated?
    No, I struggled at the beggining, but it’s usual for me. When I knew where to find something it was really easy to navigate.

    13. What did you like more, creating clothes, dressing up the avatar, or reading the story?
    A little bit of everything, but I’d say I loved reading the story. And the different responses when making a choice.

    14. Most importantly, did you enjoy the game? :D
    Absolutely. It was very refreshing playing your game. Thank you for MC with a character :D And I like that Neil changes his appearance. Can’t wait to see aged-up Dimitri.

    • I’m happy that you managed to get such conflicting feelings regarding Neil. My goal is always to have the reader feel emotions – whether they’re negative or positive emotions. So I’m very happy to hear that Neil’s story is making you feel tugged back and forth :)

      The clothes you’re wearing have no impact on the story – only the progress of the story. So you’ll have to wear certain types of clothes to proceed to the next chapter (this is not yet implement in the beta). For example, at one point you’ll have to make a masquerade dress and wear it before you can read chapter 12 of Neil’s story.

      In the next beta release, Dimitri should be 19 and look older! I will see how many chapters I can add for him.

  2. 1. Are you enjoying Neil’s route, do you still like him/hate him?
    I love him. So much angst and I love it.
    2. What are your thoughts on Dimitri’s first two chapters? Do you want to read more?
    He’s so cute. Of course I want to read more. As soon as I can, please.
    3. Who’s your favourite guy out of Neil and Dimitri? Or perhaps Alex?
    Well. I love Neil and Dimitri. Beside them, may be Sam. Alex’s route might be interesting, nonetheless :D.
    4. What’s your favourite CG?
    Smexy scene in the shop, of course.
    5. What’s your favourite chapter or scene?
    Masquerade chapter.
    6. Which part was the most romantic to you?
    And they kissed…
    7. Out of all of the side characters, is there anyone you would want as a date option?
    There’re only Sarah and Alex so may be Alex?
    8. Did you at any point get stuck on a loading screen?
    Nope.
    9. Were you able to create clothing using the “Design” button?
    Yes!
    10. Did you encounter any bugs while designing?
    No.
    11. Were you able to dress up your avatar using the “Outfit” button?
    Yes.
    12. Was everything easy to use, or were the menus too complicated?
    Easy for me.
    13. What did you like more, creating clothes, dressing up the avatar, or reading the story?
    Reading the story :))
    14. Last question; did you have fun!? :D
    Of course, I love you. Thanks for making such awesome game!

  3. Hi again! I’ve played the beta and really enjoyed it. Neil’s last chapters broke my heart, I was starting to like him more then he went and screwed that up again ><…..I eventually caved and played Dmitri's route too, I liked his route a lot more than I thought I would, he's super adorable, and the fact that his older brother turned out to be so ugh…. I messed around with the tailor system, it was pretty fun to design the clothes, even have some screenshots.I definitely want to read more and look forward to your next update. But If you need to take a break from Tailor tales for a while to take care of other responsibilities please do, your providing this for free. I don't mind donating what I can once you get round to setting that up.

  4. I want to thank you for been making this game, it’s amazing, I didnt get bored in any moment and the romantic scenes are beautiful and the cgs too! Neil is a jerk and that final chapter broked my heart and Dimitry is just adorable, I thought I was not going to like him but then I started the 2 chapter and now I want to see more of him. I didnt see any bug and I used the tailoring system whitout problems. I am very excited to se this game complete, I would give all my money for it.
    (english is not my first language, sorry for the mistakes).

  5. I just wanted to say that I have been following you and Tailor Tales for years! I’m so excited to see all of the progress you have made. I’m so glad to see that you are still going strong and intend to see this project through to the end. I wish you luck on everything going forward!

    • Thank you for your kind words, and that you’ve been following for years :D it’s been a long journey indeed. I wish I could work on it full time, but I wouldn’t have the funds for that.

      • You are welcome!
        I finished the Beta today and I have many positive things to say about it! I loved every second! Is this where I can post feedback?

        1. Are you enjoying Neil’s route, do you still like him/hate him?
        I really, really enjoyed Neil’s story so far. Without spoiling anything, the twists and turns were fun and kept me hooked. The relationship they have just makes me want to keep reading to see how it works out! I think Neil is a very interesting character and I’m curious to see which direction his personality takes as the story progresses.
        2. What are your thoughts on Dimitri’s first two chapters? Do you want to read more?
        I also really enjoyed those first chapters! I did notice a few writing quality drops when compared to Neil’s route (ex. “Through the clear glass, he finally looks at me clearly for the first time” <- almost feel like a different adjective should be used instead of "clear" twice), but I feel that may have been because it was a little rushed? I'm not sure on that though. Just my thoughts. I definitely want to read more and see how the relationship blossoms.
        3. Who’s your favourite guy out of Neil and Dimitri? Or perhaps Alex?
        Damn Neil is so hot (and he looks like my fiance in the later chapters) but Dimitri is so innocent and cute. I love them both for their vastly different personalities. I really want to see more of them both.
        4. What’s your favourite CG?
        Ooohh thats a tough one. That one scene with Neil in the Boutique in the later chapters was great.
        5. What’s your favourite chapter or scene?
        I really liked the chapter with the Ball. Don't want to spoil too much, but it was great!
        6. Which part was the most romantic to you?
        Baking a cake with Dimitri was so precious. But that chapter at the Ball again grabs my attention.
        7. Out of all of the side characters, is there anyone you would want as a date option?
        Not that I could think of at the moment. Unless Sarah becomes a secret candidate haha.

        8. Did you at any point get stuck on a loading screen?
        No, I did not.
        9. Were you able to create clothing using the “Design” button?
        Yes I was.
        10. Did you encounter any bugs while designing?
        Not while designing, no.
        11. Were you able to dress up your avatar using the “Outfit” button?
        Yes!
        12. Was everything easy to use, or were the menus too complicated?
        Menus were good, but when I tried to take a screenshot, I got an error that I could not pass and had to reload the whole game.
        Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/Luval93.png
        13. What did you like more, creating clothes, dressing up the avatar, or reading the story?
        I liked creating the clothes at first, but after the first time, there really was no need to make more. I'm assuming when the actual game launches there will be more incentive to actually make the clothes. Will my character show up more often and actually be wearing what I made? Will it influence/progress the story somehow? (Say I had to make a Red Dress for the Ball and wear it. Would characters comment specifically that it is a Red Dress?). I really loved the story and was quite hooked, and I would love to see some customization leak into the story itself.

        14. Last question; did you have fun!? :D
        YES YES YES! I am really impressed with your work and I'm very excited to see the final product. I'll be behind you 100%!

        Extra Bug: I noticed a particular part in the story where I was referred to as "Joselina" instead of my entered name.
        Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/ghKAr6b.png

  6. I just wanted to say thank you for working so hard on this amazing creation. It’s obvious that you have spent much time on making it wonderful, and it definitely shows. The characters were written extremely well- the biggest indication being that you effectively wrote the characters in a way that allowed the reader/player to feel emotion towards them. (especially with Neil- I keep going back and forth with him tbh)

    • I forgot to mention, but I wholeheartedly look forward to the next update! However, please make sure you take care of yourself. Please don’t neglect your needs in an attempt to rush the update. I personally don’t mind waiting a bit. :)

Leave a Reply

