Funding

Beta 1.0 has been going smoothly, despite the disastrous start. People are playing it and enjoying it, and I’m happy as a clam!

While Tailor Tales has been in the works for 8 years now – this third reboot has officially been started in October from last year. And it’s only been the last 4 months or so that I really dedicated my time working on it.

I’m having loads of fun of course, working on Tailor Tales pretty much full-time. It’s how I could push out this beta with so much content. I’ve written 100k words, I’ve drawn characters, I’ve drawn backgrounds, I’ve drawn clothes, I’ve drawn CGs, I’ve hired a programmer, I’ve got people lending me their voices – in a span of 4 months!

Unfortunately, my funds won’t allow me to do that anymore. Eventually I have to actually work at my job and earn money for rent/food/bills/whatever. Time dedicated to Tailor Tales would be split again, and constant updates would be a thing of the past.

If I could work on this full-time, you know I’d do it in a heart beat.

Because Tailor Tales is a free game, forgoing my actual money making job to work on this, is obviously not wise. I’m not going to be earning back the time I spent working on Tailor Tales.

I want to keep Tailor Tales free to play – but I also want to have the time to work on it while still being able to pay bills.

I’ve had a few people mention they wouldn’t mind paying for Tailor Tales, or even donating to me if possible. So I’ve been toying around with a few possibilities (no worries, Tailor Tales will still be free to play).

1. Patreon
Patreon is a website where people can donate monthly to their favourite artist/developer/whatever to help them achieve their goal. Each month, depending on how much money you donated, you’ll get some rewards.

2. Kickstarter
Kickstarter is a funding campaign website, where you can show off your project and hope people will donate enough money to it. Much like Patreon, it’ll offer donators perks depending on how much money was donated. The catch here is that Kickstarters have a limited amount of time to get funding, and you need to achieve your set goal, otherwise you do not get paid out.

3. DLC
Downloadable Content is getting more and more popular these days. Lots of free games have the option for you to buy certain items in-game for real money. You’re still able to play the game for free as usual, and you’re not forced to buy the DLC.

Kickstarter sounds great, until you look at other otome game campaigns, and realize they reached around $3000 – which is to say, 3 months of bills for me. You’d have to be really good at raising awareness to get the funding for Kickstarter, and connections help a ton. Tailor Tales isn’t that well known nor popular, so I prospect not a big funding campaign.

Patreon is also nice, but Patreon’s earnings can be minimal (it doesn’t have as many people as Kickstarter browsing around). It might give me $1000 for an entire year, who knows. You’d need to be popular and hand out great rewards to run a Patreon that will give you financial aid for your game. Handing out rewards every month would be draining on me, as I can’t simply focus on Tailor Tales alone.

Then there’s DLC. Upload Tailor Tales to any game publishing website and offer DLC packs that give the player extra little perks for the game. These DLC packs wouldn’t be all that expensive – but hopefully enough people would purchase it to gather funding for the game. The downside is that I would need to have done a lot of work on TT already before people would consider buying DLC.

So you’ve got your cons and your pros of each platform. Either way, I’m still thinking about it!

And I want to thank you all for your continuous support, it means a lot to me that you all follow my progress and enjoy playing the game :)

2 thoughts on “Funding

  1. I would personally recommend a Kickstarter myself. I would definitely back the game as well as do all I could to promote. You could work out some simple backer rewards and stretch goals could also include DLC (kill two birds with one stone?). Either way you’re going to have to take a risk and I think Kickstarter would be worth it.

Leave a Reply

